Nutcracker Sweeties

AUTUMN 2021

 

Nutcracker Sweeties

This holiday season, the curtain rises on Ballet Ireland’s Nutcracker Sweeties, a new production of one of the world’s favourite ballets. This ballet will tour to 13 venues throughout the island of Ireland, including the Gaiety Theatre Wed 17 – Sat 20.

This new production is set in a department store in Dublin where Ciara and her brother Fionn go on a shopping trip with their parents. They wander off from their parents and the magic of Nutcracker and Christmas begins…  The two are rescued by the Nutcracker doll who comes to life before Ciara shakes a snow globe creating a glorious blizzard of snowflakes. The Sugar Plum fairy greets them leading Ciara into the kingdom of the sweets where the beautiful Christmas windows come to life.

Choreographed by Morgann Runacre-Temple, this exciting new Irish presentation of the festive classic performed by a cast of world-class dancers will appeal to audiences of all ages with its fairy-tale magic, beautiful costumes and a re-imagined Tchaikovsky score. A tale of wondrous adventure that combines to form one of the most delectable Christmas confections imaginable.

 

 

Morgann Runacre-Temple

Morgann Runacre-Temple

Choreographer

Read more

 

Set & Costumes: Jack Scullion
Lighting: Eoin Lennon
Music: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Additional Music & Sound Design: Tom Lane

 

 

Tour Dates:

Theatre at the Mill, Newtownabbey Fri 5 & Sat 6 Nov

Millennium Forum Theatre, Derry Tue 9 Nov

Gaiety Theatre, Dublin Wed 17 – Sat 20 Nov

National Opera House, Wexford Sat 27 Nov

Visual Theatre, Carlow Sun 28 Nov

Watergate Theatre, Kilkenny Tue 30 Nov

Lime Tree Theatre, Limerick Fri 3 & Sat 4 Dec

Town Hall Theatre, Galway Tue 7 & Wed 8 Dec

Draíocht, Blanchardstown Fri 10 & Sat 11 Dec

Civic Theatre, Tallaght Mon 13 & Tue 14 Dec

glór, Ennis Thurs 16 & Fri 17 Dec

Siamsa Tíre, Tralee Sat 18 & Sun 19 Dec

Mermaid Arts Centre, Bray Wed 22 & Thurs 23 Dec

Ballet Ireland
Ballet Ireland
X
Skip to content